What we do.

The KCHA is the largest owner of rental housing in Knox County, providing homes to over 1,300 people.  We currently have 418 units in our public housing portfolio - 228 single, elderly, and disabled units, and 190 units of family housing.

The agency also oversees 220 Housing Choice Vouchers (Section 8) that allow low-income families to rent from private landlords throughout the jurisdiction. 

Who we serve.

The population we serve is as diverse as the community we live in.  Our clients represent a broad range of cultures, backgrounds, and stages in life, from hard working individuals and families to persons with disabilities and special needs to single parents seeking to improve the quality of life for their families. 

Our Leaders

image4

Derek Antoine, Executive Director

Proudly serving the community since 2007.

dantoine@knoxhousing.org

image5

Cheryl Lefler, Assistant Director

Making a difference since 2009.

clefler@knoxhousing.org

Board of Commissioners

image6

Lomac Payton, Chairperson

Jared Hawkinson, Vice Chair

Jared Hawkinson, Vice Chair

Term Expires May, 2023

lpayton@knoxhousing.org

image7

Jared Hawkinson, Vice Chair

Jared Hawkinson, Vice Chair

Jared Hawkinson, Vice Chair

Term Expires:  July, 2024

jhawkinson@knoxhousing.org

image8

Wayne Allen, Commissioner

Jared Hawkinson, Vice Chair

Paula Sanford, Commissioner

Term Expires:  June, 2023

wallen@knoxhousing.org

image9

Paula Sanford, Commissioner

Paula Sanford, Commissioner

Paula Sanford, Commissioner

Resident Commissioner

Term Expires:  July, 2024 

psanford@knoxhousing.org

image10

Paul Stewart, Commissioner

Paula Sanford, Commissioner

Paul Stewart, Commissioner

Term Expires:  May, 2021

phstewart69@gmail.com

image11

Sara Robison, Commissioner

Paula Sanford, Commissioner

Paul Stewart, Commissioner

Term Expires:  May, 2022

srobison@knoxhousing.org

image12

Joseph Riley, Commissioner

Joseph Riley, Commissioner

Joseph Riley, Commissioner

Term Expires:  September, 2025

jriley@knoxhousing.org

image13

Derek Antoine, Secretary

Joseph Riley, Commissioner

Joseph Riley, Commissioner

Open and Transparent Services

image14

KCHA encourages community members to stay informed on the current issues and business actions pertaining to public housing in Knox County, IL. In accordance with the Illinois Open Meetings Act, KCHA notifies residents and the general public of upcoming Board and public meetings, and will post announcements and agenda items to this page. 

Board Packets

Click here to access the archive page containing KCHA Board information packets.

KCHA Policy Library

Here you will find all of the policies pertaining to agency and program operation.

Organizational Chart

A breakdown of KCHA staffing.

Freedom of Information Act (FOIA)

Click below to access the KCHA's FOIA page, and to submit a FOIA request.

Required Agency Postings

Postings required by the Quality Housing and Work Responsibility Act of 1998 (QHWRA), including agency assessment scores, can be found here.